PDA

View Full Version : HTML Drop-down Menu

Knyfe
02-15-2011, 05:03 PM
Just a heads-up, this isn't the epic drop-down menu you've seen on some site, this is a simpler one, and it would look something like this:
http://i75.servimg.com/u/f75/15/55/73/97/blah10.png
Also, I'm not very good at making tutorials (this is my second one EVER) so it might be hard to understand or something like that. Anyway....

1. Set up the basic html tags: head, body, footer, etc. Choose where you want the menu, and set up the alignment tags or whatever you want to make sure it goes where you want it to go.

2. Copy and paste this code within the tags where you want it to go. Don't modify this code; it sets up the browser so it knows that you're going to add a menu, not the links and junk.

<SCRIPT TYPE="text/javascript">
<!--
function dropdown(mySel)
{
var myWin, myVal;
myVal = mySel.options[mySel.selectedIndex].value;
if(myVal)
{
if(mySel.form.target)myWin = parent[mySel.form.target];
else myWin = window;
if (! myWin) return true;
myWin.location = myVal;
}
return false;
}
//-->
</SCRIPT>
<FORM
ACTION=""
METHOD=POST onSubmit="return dropdown(this.gourl)">
<SELECT NAME="gourl">
<OPTION VALUE="">Random Page

<OPTION VALUE="/tags/" >Random Page
<OPTION VALUE="/" >Random Page
<OPTION VALUE="http://www.ninthwonder.com" >Random Page

</SELECT>

3. Beneath the Select code, paste this:

<FORM
ACTION=""
<SELECT NAME="">

</SELECT>

<INPUT TYPE=SUBMIT VALUE="Go">
</FORM>

4. Now my least favorite part. Modify the 2nd code (The Form code, as I call it) for your site. You can figure it out by yourself if you want to explore the code or aren't an immature coder like myself. Below is a step-by-step guide on what changes what in your menu.

A)
<FORM
ACTION=""
<SELECT NAME="hi">