PDA

View Full Version : Total n00b here

Killgore
01-18-2009, 08:10 PM
I'm completely new to PHP, so I'm almost clueless on how to make this work. BUT, i am very good with HTML and CSS so i'm not entirely new to some of these things. so if there's anyone who's willing to give me a walkthrough, I'd be eternally grateful.

BMR777
01-18-2009, 08:21 PM
Fisrt thing to do is get yourself a hosting account somewhere.

Then in the hosting account find the MySQL database section. If using CPanel you can look and find the MySQL Database Wizard which will guide you through the process of creating a database, database user and password. Write these down as you'll need them later.

Then, using an FTP program upload the files inside the adoptables folder to somewhere on your website.

Then open the file inc > config.php in the adoptables download package and insert the info for your site, such as database username, password and database name, plus domain name and script path. See the file for more info. Then re-upload the config.php file, copying over the blank one you had previously uploaded.

Then in your CPanel find the PHPMyAdmin link or icon and click. Then when the page loads click on your database that is listed on the left. Then once the next page loads, click on the "SQL" icon that says SQL on the left, should be the middle icon. In the box that loads paste the contents of sql.txt from the download package in the box and submit.

Then in CPanel go into the legacy file manager and locate your inc directory. On the right you'll see something like file permissions or CHMOD or something. Set the files levels.php and settings.php to CHMOD 777, or check all the boxes. :)

That should be all. :)

BMR777

Killgore
01-18-2009, 09:46 PM
how do i find the database info for the config?

BMR777
01-19-2009, 09:21 AM
how do i find the database info for the config?