PDA

View Full Version : Images not showing


Tequila
02-27-2009, 01:02 PM
I've noticed that the images for my adoptables aren't showing up anywhere other than on the main site, for example:

http://familiarelements.info/get.php?id=79 (http://familiarelements.info/levelup.php?id=79)

This happened after I switched the Name Server settings for my website so I could also implement Google Apps. If needed I can change back, but won't be able to use GMail with @familiarelements.info for site staff.

BMR777
02-27-2009, 01:09 PM
The problem is on your server, the get.php file seems to be forbidden when I try to show the image:

http://familiarelements.info/get.php?id=79 - 403 Forbidden

http://familiarelements.info/get.php - Loads page fine

This is a host issue. They either don't fully support the script's code or have something blocked that needs to be unblocked. See if they have the readfile() php function disabled or blocked.

Brandon

Tequila
02-27-2009, 01:14 PM
readfile is enabled: http://familiarelements.info/check.php
Strike that readfile() is not enabled.

I'm going to try placing it back on the nameservers that came with my hosting.

------
I've put it back on my hosting nameservers, and am contacting my host about this.

Tequila
03-01-2009, 11:11 AM
Ok Brandon, how about changing
if($name != "" and $imageurl != ""){
//We've got a live one here
$imageInfo = pathinfo($imageurl);
$contentType = 'Content-type: '.$extList[ $imageInfo['extension'] ];
header ($contentType);
readfile($imageurl);

}

to if($name != "" and $imageurl != ""){
//We've got a live one here
$imageInfo = pathinfo($imageurl);
$contentType = 'Content-type: '.$extList[ $imageInfo['extension'] ];
header ($contentType);
file_get_contents($imageurl);

}

Would that work if I cannot get the readfile() function to work?

Blue Icebox
03-01-2009, 01:28 PM
Great... My webhost image isn't working either... http://ufoadopts.1free.ws/get.php doesn't work but I have the file in my FTP server

http://ufoadopts.1free.ws/get.php?id=1

doesn't work either b/c of http://ufoadopts.1free.ws/get.php doesn't work! :( I can't believe it! :O

BMR777
03-01-2009, 02:46 PM
enddayne, file_get_contents I believe will work as well. Give it a try and let me know if it works any better for you.

Tequila
03-01-2009, 03:02 PM
I tried it, still no answer. Haven't heard from my host yet either. I went and disabled the other DNS settings, so I'm not using google apps.

Edit is there a way to have the images load from the source not the code?

BMR777
03-01-2009, 03:30 PM
No, there's no way to load images directly.

Tequila
03-01-2009, 03:51 PM
Oh well. I'll see if this fix does anything by tomorrow.

gjac1
03-03-2009, 04:31 AM
A website called unicreatures is going around reporting alot of us that use this script for copyright infringement...

I just had my site closed down because i think the website got too popular for my free webhosts liking lol and it didnt help that they where mass reporting me, they dont seem to like how popular this is becoming, so they reported me for using official Bandai and Gamefreak images which are free to use on fan sites anyway.....

Oh and that started with 000webshosting forbidding the images from showing up when posted on forums...after that they closed the account, so free hosting might not be the way to go if you want you site to become popular

Tequila
03-03-2009, 07:48 AM
A website called unicreatures is going around reporting alot of us that use this script for copyright infringement...

I just had my site closed down because i think the website got too popular for my free webhosts liking lol and it didnt help that they where mass reporting me, they dont seem to like how popular this is becoming, so they reported me for using official Bandai and Gamefreak images which are free to use on fan sites anyway.....

Oh and that started with 000webshosting forbidding the images from showing up when posted on forums...after that they closed the account, so free hosting might not be the way to go if you want you site to become popular


idk, but I use models I have paid for or that have unrestricted use. I also have paid hosting that the scipt is run on.

12345
03-03-2009, 09:30 AM
I think if you post like this:
imageshack.us picture direct link
It will work.

Tequila
03-03-2009, 01:59 PM
I think if you post like this:
imageshack.us picture direct link
It will work.


But they wouldn't have the image as it levels. Brandon already said there is no way to directly call the images from the host.

Tequila
03-05-2009, 10:14 AM
Hm, just updated my check.php (http://familiarelements.info/check.php) (and subdomain (http://familiarelements.end-day.net/check.php)) file and it looks like 'file_get_contents()' is also disabled. My users have decided that as a small workaround that they can copy/paste the image's url (using Right Click > Copy Image Location), but I'm hoping for a better solution.

BMR777
03-05-2009, 02:58 PM
Your host sure has a lot disabled then. Are they a paid host?

Lady
03-05-2009, 07:31 PM
I have Dreamhost and when I asked them about the problem, they explained that it was because I had extra web secruity turned on when I created the domain. (It's on by default, so you'd have to turn it off when you create the folder or change it later.) They disabled it and tested the site and it works now. The extra secruity closes off a lot of PHP functions to prevent any type of hacker activity, but ends up creating a lot of problems too.

BMR777
03-05-2009, 07:38 PM
I have Dreamhost and when I asked them about the problem, they explained that it was because I had extra web secruity turned on when I created the domain. (It's on by default, so you'd have to turn it off when you create the folder or change it later.) They disabled it and tested the site and it works now. The extra secruity closes off a lot of PHP functions to prevent any type of hacker activity, but ends up creating a lot of problems too.


I'm glad it's working now. It seems a lot of hosts disable quite a few things without telling anyone. :)

Lady
03-05-2009, 07:47 PM
Well, I'm sure most people don't mind things being disabled if they have no idea what it is. :)

It took my host a bit longer than I thought to get back with the issue.. So I'd suggest just trying to get a support ticket out there if at all possible. Even if it's free hosting, they'll sometimes edit things to help out customers.

Tequila
03-06-2009, 06:21 AM
Your host sure has a lot disabled then. Are they a paid host?


Yep, I pay 51$/year for their best plan. I know include() has worked for my site before, so I guess I'm going to try that now.


Well, I'm sure most people don't mind things being disabled if they have no idea what it is. :)

It took my host a bit longer than I thought to get back with the issue.. So I'd suggest just trying to get a support ticket out there if at all possible. Even if it's free hosting, they'll sometimes edit things to help out customers.


Apparently readfile() is an open security flaw (sent in a ticket shortly after I posted this) and they can't enable it. I'm going to try my other workaround.

BMR777
03-06-2009, 02:46 PM
Readfile is only a security flaw if not properly implemented. I can assure you that it is perfectly safe on my script, however your host I'm sure has their policies.

Tequila
03-06-2009, 05:01 PM
Yeah, she won't enable it. I know it's safe to run though. I'm trying with include() right now.

Edit with include()
http://familiarelements.info/get/217.png (http://familiarelements.info/levelup.php?id=217)

Lady
03-06-2009, 11:36 PM
Yeah, she won't enable it. I know it's safe to run though. I'm trying with include() right now.
That sucks. :( I can host you for free on my account if you want.

Tequila
03-07-2009, 07:15 AM
My users are cheating a bit. I'm sure I'll figure something out/