Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum

Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/index.php)
-   Questions and Supports (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Editing the HTML side of the CSS? (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1910)

Sasoragon 02-14-2011 05:46 AM

Editing the HTML side of the CSS?
 
I'm trying to make a drop-down menu bar on my site, but I'm not entirely sure how to do it. According to google, it requires editing the HTML side of a page. Does anyone know how to do this, or if there's a better way? :usedusedused:

ChibiMaestro 02-14-2011 10:36 AM

Well I found this on Google sometime ago (and what I do when I find an epic code is save it xD).

Most sites say you have to use Javascript but this one only uses CSS and HTML xD

So....
Code:

<html>
<head>
<title>CSS based drop-down menu</title>       
        <style type="text/css">
ul {
        font-family: Arial, Verdana;
        font-size: 14px;
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
        list-style: none;
        }
ul li {
        display: block;
        position: relative;
        float: left;
        }
li ul {
        display: none;
        }
ul li a {
        display: block;
        text-decoration: none;
        color: #ffffff;
        border-top: 1px solid #ffffff;
        padding: 5px 15px 5px 15px;
        background: #2C5463;
        margin-left: 1px;
        white-space: nowrap;
        }
ul li a:hover {
        background: #617F8A;
        }
li:hover ul {
        display: block;
        position: absolute;
        }
li:hover li {
        float: none;
        font-size: 11px;
        }
li:hover a {
        background: #617F8A;
        }
li:hover li a:hover {
        background: #95A9B1;
        }
        </style>               
</head>
<body>
        <ul id="menu">
                        <li><a href="">Home</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">About</a>
                        <ul>
                        <li><a href="">The Team</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">History</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Vision</a></li>
                        </ul>
                        </li>
                        <li><a href="">Products</a>
                        <ul>
                        <li><a href="">Cozy Couch</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Great Table</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Small Chair</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Shiny Shelf</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Invisible Nothing</a></li>
                        </ul>
                        </li>
                        <li><a href="">Contact</a>
                        <ul>
                        <li><a href="">Online</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Right Here</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Somewhere Else</a></li>
                        </ul>
                        </li>
                        </ul>
</body>
</html>

And yes, you will need to be able to edit the HTML because let's compare the different HTML menus:
The drop down menu:
Code:

        <ul id="menu">
                        <li><a href="">Home</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">About</a>
                        <ul>
                        <li><a href="">The Team</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">History</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Vision</a></li>
                        </ul>
                        </li>
                        <li><a href="">Products</a>
                        <ul>
                        <li><a href="">Cozy Couch</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Great Table</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Small Chair</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Shiny Shelf</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Invisible Nothing</a></li>
                        </ul>
                        </li>
                        <li><a href="">Contact</a>
                        <ul>
                        <li><a href="">Online</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Right Here</a></li>
                        <li><a href="">Somewhere Else</a></li>
                        </ul>
                        </li>
                        </ul>

The MA menu:
Code:

<ul>
        <li><a href='index.php'>Home</a></li>
        <li><a href='adopt.php'>Adopt</a></li>
        <li><a href='myadopts.php'>My Adopts</a></li>
        <li><a href='account.php'>My Account</a></li>
        <li><a href='messages.php'>Message Center</a></li>
        <li><a href='stats.php'>Top 10</a></li>
        <li><a href='shoutbox.php'>Shoutbox</a></li>
</ul>

^See that you only have 1 pair of <ul> tags?

So you can't use it for PokeHikke if that's what you were thinking of... but you can use it for a Mys site xD

PTGigi 02-14-2011 04:13 PM

I may have to make use of this :meow:

Sasoragon 02-14-2011 04:40 PM

Lol, yeah, I know. XD I got the idea off of that thread in MA.

I'm trying to edit the CSS of a Mys site, and I thought a drop-down menu would be pretty awesome. The thing is, I don't know where to put in the HTML side of it. :veeee:

Tequila 02-15-2011 09:39 AM

You'll need to be in 'inc/functions.php' to edit anything that shows up as menu links in the site, especially if you use the :LINKSBAR: or :SIDEFEED: calls.

Sasoragon 02-15-2011 05:24 PM

Oh, okay. I was looking in the functions.php earlier today, but I didn't manage to get anything to work. I guess I have to stare at the Mys Script a little bit more to try and understand it before I can start making things like that. XD

Thanks~

BMR777 02-17-2011 09:40 AM

Check your /templates folder, as that's where the actual HTML files for the script are stored. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.