Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum

Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/index.php)
-   Questions and Supports (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   adding images (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2082)

Nemesis 04-09-2011 07:12 PM

adding images
 
on the elements theme i want to add images on the left and right side under the links and under the red and blue boxes. so whats the best way to do that? We should start with the index.php. so do i use <div>? sorry for noob question.

fadillzzz 04-09-2011 08:23 PM

You can do it by editing the template.html file inside the templates/elements folder.

Nemesis 04-09-2011 08:39 PM

ahh but what if i want different images depending on the page your on?

Nemesis 04-09-2011 08:46 PM

ya that's not going to work ill just have to do more research on div i think.

fadillzzz 04-09-2011 08:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nemesis (Post 16040)
ahh but what if i want different images depending on the page your on?

Well, in that case you can place something like :IMAGE1: in the template.html and then edit the showpage functions to replace that :IMAGE1: in the template.html with something else

Nemesis 04-09-2011 09:03 PM

ok thanks for help, I feel frustrated today from all my homework but did finish an 8 page report. Sorry I don't follow you on that... I think this is a little easier because here's what i did so far. using this code on the index page


<div style="float: left;">

<img src="the url" width="250" height="350" alt="some_text"/>
</div>

It looks like this... http://chaoisland.netne.net/

Now i simply want to scoot it over a bit so it lines up nicely. Thanks again for help.

Nemesis 04-09-2011 09:28 PM

so it is possible to move it left. left:580px;"> was easy but will it work good for all resolutions, let's see...

Edit: nope failed :desudesudesu:

Nemesis 04-09-2011 10:50 PM

Ok ok making some progress now. Sorry for a mess of a thread but I am finnally starting to actually learn css and these template.html's :pleased:

but i think i see a huge problem. If i was to changes hosts wouldn't that break all those image links? i plan on adding tons of different pictures, different ones on each page. So instead of linking them by domain is there a way to do say variables? like DOMAIN/templates/images/img.png. the folders shouldn't change but my domain will so what do webmasters do instead of tediously changing all of the old domain names to the current?

Edit: ok ya thinking about it how would i declare domain equals at the top, i guess in the template.html. that way if a domain name change were to occur i would just change x in domain = x. Forgive me for only have taken a python course and Google can be hard to use for such problems.

fadillzzz 04-09-2011 11:21 PM

Umm...if you don't want to bother to change the domain, just write the path not the full url
HTML Code:

<img src='path/to/image.png' />

Nemesis 04-09-2011 11:36 PM

I knew there was a solution. but see, how was i supposed to know about path. that's what path does right, uses the domain its on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.