Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum  

Home Community Mys-Script Creative Off-Topic
Go Back   Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum > Projects > The Bug Tracker > Bug

Deleting Accounts Doesn't Purge Them Issue Tools
issueid=43 05-29-2014 11:25 AM
Squiggling since 1995
Deleting Accounts Doesn't Purge Them
I deleted tester accounts and re-registered them and they were still there.

So I was testing out various features and creating and deleting tester accounts. But when I used the same username to register again, they still had their adoptables, messages, and trades.

Is this a bug or should I just not delete accounts? I know I can ban them, but that leaves them in my system and is more cumbersome.
Issue Details
Project The Bug Tracker
Category Unknown
Status Not a Bug
Priority 5 - Medium
Affected Version Mys v1.3.4
Fixed Version (none)
Users able to reproduce bug 0
Users unable to reproduce bug 0
Assigned Users (none)
Tags (none)

11-09-2014 03:07 AM
ChibiFur Queen
 
I know this is an old issue but...
You should be able to manually purge the data from your files.
Not entirely sure where it puts new users data but find that, remove the relevant bits and it should work.
Make a backup first just in case.
Reply
11-09-2014 12:00 PM
Moderator
 
Yeah, it seems to just remove them from the users table. Looks like the owned_adoptables, messages and other tables stay the same I guess. Might be something HoF needs to change for the next version. Until then, manually removing them from all the tables in the database works
Reply
11-09-2014 01:22 PM
ChibiFur Queen
 
Far as I know, its a similar problem for all adoptables sites in any script. They need databases and there doesn't seem to be an automatic way of purging a user. Maybe it isn't possible. I would have thought it would already be coded in if it was. Maybe someone hasn't bothered fiddling the codes to do it though.
Reply
11-09-2014 01:37 PM
Moderator
 
It's possible, it's just deleting all rows in all tables that use users, by the user ID/username. A database is just like an advanced text file that stores information, you are free to edit, add and delete whatever ^^ You just need to worry about data integrity

Some programmers/site owners choose not to delete rows from certain tables to preserve information/records of the user and just put them "inactive".

I think user references are kept by username in other tables? If so... We can either just delete every record of the user. Or if keeping messages and adoptables is important for statistics, instead of username use ID to attach a user to rows, since ID will always be unique, even if a user is deleted no one else will use that ID
Reply
12-20-2014 12:13 PM
Administrator, Lead Coder
 
Of course, in the new version, owned adoptables by deleted accounts will be either purged or moved to pound center. However, you can only do this if you delete user accounts through ACP. If you use PHPMyadmin, you have to clean up tables for owned adoptables yourself.
Reply
Reply

Issue Tools
Subscribe to this issue

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.

Currently Active Users: 226 (1 members and 225 guests)
Threads: 3,942, Posts: 31,405, Members: 15,530
Welcome to our newest members, ancrsbys01.
BER





What's New?

What's Hot?

What's Popular?


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBCommerce I v2.0.0 Gold ©2010, PixelFX Studios
vBCredits I v2.0.0 Gold ©2010, PixelFX Studios
Emoticons by darkmoon3636