Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum  

Home Community Mys-Script Creative Off-Topic
Go Back   Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum > Mysidia Adoptables > Questions and Supports

Notices

Old 02-26-2014, 10:46 PM

Credits: 4,880
Vaporman87 is on a distinguished road
Default Changing... or "masking" existing URLs

One thing I am curious about, is if there is any simple way to "rename" or "mask" some of the URLs for the script, without having to rename them in every relevant file using that particular URL path.

For instance, I might like for mysite.com/pound to appear in the browser as mysite.com/hall of honor.

Can something like this be accomplished via the .htaccess file?

Thanks for any input!
Old 02-27-2014, 09:58 PM
Premium Member

Credits: 86,940
Kyttias is on a distinguished road

Hmm... well, this might be worth a read? I have no experience in this, myself.
Old 02-28-2014, 02:50 AM
Squiggling since 1995

Credits: 8,100
squiggler is on a distinguished road

I believe you have to rename the file in your host's file manager? I'm not a coder though.
Old 02-28-2014, 03:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyttias View Post
Hmm... well, this might be worth a read? I have no experience in this, myself.
I've tried various .htaccess rewrites like this, and nothing works. The only thing that shows up in the browser bar is what is listed in the database table adopts_links. Sure, I can change the URL in that table to what I like, but then that link will only ever redirect you to the index page.

If there were a way to create another column in the database called linkname, that would function to be what is displayed by the browser in the address bar, that would be great. So you would have the existing column linkurl, and the partner column linkname. One acting to gather the content, and one to display in the browser. Is this possible maybe?

Last edited by Vaporman87; 02-28-2014 at 03:57 PM.
Old 02-28-2014, 04:59 PM

Credits: 19,256
IntoRain is on a distinguished road