Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum  

Home Community Mys-Script Creative Off-Topic
Go Back   Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum > Mysidia Adoptables > Questions and Supports

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 10-27-2009, 11:47 AM
Seapyramid Seapyramid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 373
Gender: Female
Credits: 15,565
Seapyramid
Default RE: Breeding

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arianna
Here :D
PHP Code:
if($gender_rand 0){
                
$new_name $male_name." & ".$female_name."'s Son";
                
$gender 'male';
                unset(
$gender_rand);
            }
            else{
                
$new_name $male_name." & ".$female_name."'s Daughter";
                
$gender 'female';
                unset(
$gender_rand);
            } 
It works on the code, producing something to the like of this at the end:
Code:
Manage Ik & Random's Daughter now! It's type is Jinx and it was born on October 27th, 2009! You can change its name to your liking.
I don't believe that that is the problem, I think that it's not inserting it into the database correctly.

Actually I believe that that is your problem. using that in the insert would cause many issues.

basically you are trying to insert

PHP Code:
'$type','Ik & Random's Daughter','$loggedinname','0','0', 
That messes up your syntax and so it won't insert.

Sea
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-27-2009, 12:05 PM
Arianna's Avatar
Arianna Arianna is offline
Dev Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Gender: Female
Credits: 21,275
Arianna will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Breeding

Gosh, thanks so much! I'll go and edit that. :D[hr]
I'm ecstatic that it basically works now! Thanks so much, Sea!
I'm having one (hopefully last) problem. If some adoptables have been removed, I get this kind of message at the top of the page:
Code:
Warning: mysql_result() [function.mysql-result]: Unable to jump to row 2 on MySQL result index 20 in /home/pixelpup/public_html/twig3/adoptables/breeding.php on line 104

Warning: mysql_result() [function.mysql-result]: Unable to jump to row 2 on MySQL result index 20 in /home/pixelpup/public_html/twig3/adoptables/breeding.php on line 105

Warning: mysql_result() [function.mysql-result]: Unable to jump to row 2 on MySQL result index 20 in /home/pixelpup/public_html/twig3/adoptables/breeding.php on line 106
This is unimportant, so is it possible to just disable the showing of it?[hr]
EDIT: I managed to disable it by putting an @ in front of the function. :D
Now off to work on the fact that the gender is set once and stays the same (forgot to copy over my edited gender mod. xP)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-27-2009, 03:08 PM
Arianna's Avatar
Arianna Arianna is offline
Dev Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Gender: Female
Credits: 21,275
Arianna will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Breeding

Before I go to bed - there are 2 problems. I'd love if anyone could have any advice on these.
Firstly, the type selector thing doesn't work. It's always the the same type, no matter what. xP Secondly, they are always the same gender. Maybe it is somehow not clearing the variable?
Thanks so much. :D
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-29-2009, 03:13 AM
Arianna's Avatar
Arianna Arianna is offline
Dev Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Gender: Female
Credits: 21,275
Arianna will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Breeding

Is anyone able to help?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-29-2009, 09:52 AM
Arianna's Avatar
Arianna Arianna is offline
Dev Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Gender: Female
Credits: 21,275
Arianna will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Breeding

I have a new, updated version of the code.
It creates the adoptable just fine, even if it's different types which are breeding. However, the gender is always female, which is getting on my nerves. Also, when it gives you a list of female and male adoptables, they are always the same length, even if there is one male and 8 females, there are 8 select boxes, 7 of them which only contain '()' in them. Is there a way to solve this?

**code taken out as there is an updated version.**
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-29-2009, 01:29 PM
BMR777 BMR777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,122
Gender: Male
Credits: 10,697
BMR777 is on a distinguished road
Default RE: Breeding

Can you please post the SQL of your owned_adoptables table as well so I can take a look at the data you are working with? You can post just about 10 lines if the whole thing is long.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-29-2009, 02:00 PM
Arianna's Avatar
Arianna Arianna is offline
Dev Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Gender: Female
Credits: 21,275
Arianna will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Breeding

I actually managed to get further - I was using '=' instead of '==', silly me!
Now it has the problem where there are two drop-down lists, and they are always the same length. If there are 10 females and 2 males, there are 10 'boxes' for males, though only two are occupied - the others only have '()' in them. xP
How do I get rid of this? When I'm done with that, the whole thing will be done! :D
The whole thing is this:
PHP Code:
<?php

// **********************************************************************
// Rusnak PHP Adoptables Script
// Copyright 2009 Brandon Rusnak
// For help and support: http://www.rusnakweb.com/forum/
//
// Redistribution prohibited without written permission
// **********************************************************************

// Wake the sleeping giant

// **********************************************************************
// Basic Configuration Info
// **********************************************************************

include("inc/functions.php");
include(
"inc/config.php");

$themeurl grabanysetting("themeurl");

// **********************************************************************
// Define our top links by calling getlinks()
// **********************************************************************

$links getlinks();

// **********************************************************************
// Define our ads by calling getads()
// **********************************************************************

$ads getads("any");

// **********************************************************************
// Grab any settings that we will need for the current page from the DB
// **********************************************************************

$browsertitle grabanysetting("browsertitle");
$sitename grabanysetting("sitename");
$slogan grabanysetting("slogan");

// **********************************************************************
// Check and see if the user is logged in to the site
// **********************************************************************

$loginstatus logincheck();
$isloggedin $loginstatus[loginstatus];
$loggedinname $loginstatus[username];

// **********************************************************************
// End Prepwork - Output the page to the user
// **********************************************************************


$article_content $article_title."Breeding System"
$article_content $article_content."<p>Adoptable breeding systems sure aren't easy to make! I wish that this would work!</p>"

$femaleid $_POST['female'];
$maleid $_POST['male'];
$breed $_POST['breed'];

$femaleid secure($femaleid);
$maleid secure($maleid);
$breed secure($breed); 

// this two variables will get the female and male ID's from the selection form and the answer if the user has selected the adoptables or not.

// First let's create a page so the users can choose the two adoptables that they want to breed

if ($isloggedin == "yes"){ 
    
// we have to put that in the start of the breeding system, so users that are not logged in cannot see the selection forms

    
if ($breed != 'yes'){
        
// if the anser if the user has selected the adoptables or not, is different than YES, we have to show the options so the user can select them

        // This will start a selection form to select the females
        
$article_content $article_content."<p>Select the Two adoptables you want to Breed:</p><p><form method='post'><select name = 'female'>"

        
//This will select all the female adoptables the user has
        
$result mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."owned_adoptables WHERE owner = '$loggedinname' AND gender = 'Female'");
        
$num mysql_num_rows($result);

        
// Loop Out code < this will loop so you select all the rows and not just one
        
$i 0;
        while (
$i $num){
            
$aid = @mysql_result($result,$i,'aid');
            
$type = @mysql_result($result,$i,'type');
            
$name = @mysql_result($result,$i,'name');

            
$article_content $article_content."<option value='".$aid."'>".$name." (".$type.")</option>";
            
//this will display something like that: cute kitty (cat), the name (the type); for each adoptable (female) the user has

            
$i++;
        }

        
$article_content $article_content."</select><select name='male'>"//now let's do the same for the males

        
$result2 mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."owned_adoptables WHERE owner = '$loggedinname' AND gender = 'Male'");
        
$num2 mysql_num_rows($result2);

        
// Loop Out code
        
$i2 0;
        while (
$i2 $num){
            
$aid2 = @mysql_result($result2,$i2,'aid');
            
$type2 = @mysql_result($result2,$i2,'type');
            
$name2 = @mysql_result($result2,$i2,'name');

            
$article_content $article_content."<option value='".$aid2."'>".$name2." (".$type2.")</option>";

            
$i2++;
        }

        
$article_content $article_content."</select><input type='hidden' name='breed' value='yes'><input type='submit' value='Breed It'></form>";

        
// ok now the user has two selection forms to those a female and a male adoptable and when they click Breed It, it
       // will be posted to the variables $_POST['female'] and $_POST['male'], which will be two aid (adoptables ids), 
       //and with that ID we can select the information that we need from the database, and breed them

        // the hidden input will give us an answer to our question, the user has selected it? and it'll be 'yes'

    
// this is the end of if($breed != 'yes'), so now we have to put an ELSE statment, 
       //that means that the answer IS yes, and we can proceed with the breeding

    
else {
        
// ok, if the user gets here, it means that we have the male and female ID, and with it we can select the informations from the database.
        // here you can estabilish what you want.. the adoptables have to be which level to breed? the adoptables have to be the same type? 
        // I took out the incompatible part, it can be added back in if needed
        // first let's get the information we need

        
$result mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."owned_adoptables WHERE aid = '$femaleid'");
        
// the result should be just one row, so we don't need a loop

        
$female_type mysql_result($result,0,'type'); 
        
// 0 means that we are selecting the very first row, in this case, the only one
        
$female_name mysql_result($result,0,'name');
        
$female_level mysql_result($result,0,'currentlevel');


        
$result2 mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."owned_adoptables WHERE aid = '$maleid'");
        
// the result should be just one row, so we don't need a loop

        
$male_type = @mysql_result($result2,0,'type'); 
        
// 0 means that we are selecting the very first row, in this case, the only one
        
$male_name = @mysql_result($result2,0,'name');
        
$male_level = @mysql_result($result2,0,'currentlevel');

        
// now we have all we need. let's start the security system, to guarantee that the user has the requirements
        
        
if ($male_level OR $female_level 2){ //this is if they can't breed
            
$article_content $article_content."Sorry, one of your adoptables don't have the minimum level to breed. Keep feeding them so they can grow.";    
        } 

        else {
            
//We choose the type!
                    
$temptype rand(01);
                    if(
$temptype == "0") {
                        
$type $male_type;
                        unset(
$temptype);
                    }
                    else if(
$temptype "1"){
                        
$type $female_type;
                        unset(
$temptype);
                    }
            
            if (
$type == $male_type) {
                
$result3 mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."adoptables WHERE type='$male_type'");
                
$aid mysql_result($result3,0,"id"); //The adoptable's ID
                
$eggimage mysql_result($result3,0,"eggimage");
            }
            
            else {
                
$result3 mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."adoptables WHERE type='$female_type'");
                
$aid mysql_result($result3,0,"id"); //The adoptable's ID
                
$eggimage mysql_result($result3,0,"eggimage");
            }
            
            
// we're choosing a gender
               
              
            
$tempgender rand(01);

            if(
$tempgender == "0"){
                
$new_name "Son of ".$male_name." & ".$female_name;
                
$gender 'Male';
            }
            else if(
$tempgender == "1"){
                
$new_name "Daughter of ".$male_name." & ".$female_name;
                
$gender 'Female';
            }
            
            unset(
$tempgender);
            
            
$article_content $article_content."<p>Your adoptables are breeding.</p>";
         
            if (
$type != "0"){
               
$article_content $article_content."<p>Result: <b>Bred Succesfully</b></p><p>Your new egg is being transferred to you right now. Yay!</p>";

               
// now let's insert the new egg at owned_adoptables
                

               // now we're choosing the code
               
$code rand(120000);

               
$alts getaltstatus($aid00);

               
// and the date comes in here too
               
$date date("F jS, Y");   
               
               
$name $new_name;

               
mysql_query("INSERT INTO ".$prefix."owned_adoptables VALUES ('', '$type', '$name','$loggedinname','0','0', '$code', '','$alts','notfortrade','no','$gender','$date')");

               
$article_content $article_content."<p><img src='".$eggimage."'><br /><a href='myadopts.php'>Manage ".$name." now!</a>
               It's type is "
.$type." and it was born on ".$date."! You can change its name to your liking.</p>";
                    
               unset(
$gender);
               unset(
$type);

            } 
// if our type is not equal to zero, this is where we continue. this is the end of the continuation.
        
// we end the place where it goes on if the levels are ok
    
//this bracket ends the else where we find the male/female id's
}// this is the end of if($isloggedin == "yes")

else { //this is the else of if($isloggedin == "yes")

    
$article_content $article_content."You are not logged in. Please log in to breed.";

}


// **********************************************************************
// Begin Template Definition
// **********************************************************************

//Define our current theme
$file $themeurl;

// Do the template changes and echo the ready template
$template file_get_contents($file);

$template replace(':ARTICLETITLE:',$article_title,$template);
$template replace(':ARTICLECONTENT:',$article_content,$template);
$template replace(':ARTICLEDATE:',$article_date,$template);

$template replace(':BROWSERTITLE:',$browsertitle,$template);
$template replace(':SITENAME:',$sitename,$template);

//Define our links
$template replace(':LINKSBAR:',$links,$template);

//Get the content for the side bar...

$sidebar getsidebar();
$template replace(':SIDEFEED:',$sidebar,$template);

//Get the ad content...
$template replace(':ADS:',$ads,$template);

//Get the slogan info
$template replace(':SLOGAN:',$slogan,$template);


echo 
$template;

// **********************************************************************
// End Template Definition
// **********************************************************************



?>
Yet, the code in specific that I'm looking at is this:
PHP Code:
 // This will start a selection form to select the females
        
$article_content $article_content."<p>Select the Two adoptables you want to Breed:</p><p><form method='post'><select name = 'female'>"

        
//This will select all the female adoptables the user has
        
$result mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."owned_adoptables WHERE owner = '$loggedinname' AND gender = 'Female'");
        
$num mysql_num_rows($result);

        
// Loop Out code < this will loop so you select all the rows and not just one
        
$i 0;
        while (
$i $num){
            
$aid = @mysql_result($result,$i,'aid');
            
$type = @mysql_result($result,$i,'type');
            
$name = @mysql_result($result,$i,'name');

            
$article_content $article_content."<option value='".$aid."'>".$name." (".$type.")</option>";
            
//this will display something like that: cute kitty (cat), the name (the type); for each adoptable (female) the user has

            
$i++;
        }

        
$article_content $article_content."</select><select name='male'>"//now let's do the same for the males

        
$result2 mysql_query("SELECT * FROM ".$prefix."owned_adoptables WHERE owner = '$loggedinname' AND gender = 'Male'");
        
$num2 mysql_num_rows($result2);

        
// Loop Out code
        
$i2 0;
        while (
$i2 $num){
            
$aid2 = @mysql_result($result2,$i2,'aid');
            
$type2 = @mysql_result($result2,$i2,'type');
            
$name2 = @mysql_result($result2,$i2,'name');

            
$article_content $article_content."<option value='".$aid2."'>".$name2." (".$type2.")</option>";

            
$i2++;
        }

        
$article_content $article_content."</select><input type='hidden' name='breed' value='yes'><input type='submit' value='Breed It'></form>"
[hr]
Nevermind, it was a stupid mistake..
The feature is finished now![hr]
It's working perfectly now, except for a really weird sort order. Somehow, it seems to enter it right after one of their parents, irregardless of the $aid variable. xP
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-30-2009, 01:12 PM
Arianna's Avatar
Arianna Arianna is offline
Dev Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 334
Gender: Female
Credits: 21,275
Arianna will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Breeding

Is there any way to get the code to insert it after the last value in the table?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breeding Bug? Need help :) Missy Master Questions and Supports 7 08-14-2014 02:29 PM
Breeding help SilverDragonTears Questions and Supports 0 04-12-2012 11:41 PM
Random breeding outcome/ rare breeding SilverDragonTears Questions and Supports 0 03-25-2012 02:33 AM
breeding Ruffsta Feedback and Suggestions 3 06-06-2011 04:09 PM
No breeding RoconzaArt Questions and Supports 15 01-24-2011 02:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.

Currently Active Users: 3659 (0 members and 3659 guests)
Threads: 4,080, Posts: 32,024, Members: 2,016
Welcome to our newest members, jolob.
BETA





What's New?

What's Hot?

What's Popular?


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBCommerce I v2.0.0 Gold ©2010, PixelFX Studios
vBCredits I v2.0.0 Gold ©2010, PixelFX Studios
Emoticons by darkmoon3636